Tutor/Mentor Connection

Connect knowledge, volunteers, youth and make a difference.

I've been included in the 2016 IVMOOC. See client list. I was part of this in 2015. Below is how I introduced this a year ago:

I've been invited to submit a project for the 2015 IVMOOC hosted by the Information Visualization department at Indiana University. Visit the GooglePlus page for the IVMOOC to see more videos and learn how to participate in the project. In the video above I provide some information about the project.  This is the web page for the course.

Here's some background information, and visualizations I'd like to draw attention to:

a) I've been using GIS maps to show participation in past tutor/mentor conferences, which I've been hosting in Chicago since May 1994.  See http://www.tutormentorconference.org/ConferenceMaps.htm  With a map you can show how well participation represents the area where you seek to provide services, or from where you seek talent, dollars and other leadership.  The number of mapping tools has greatly expanded since I started using GIS back in 1994

b) Social Network Analysis is a different form of visualization of networks. It does not show a geographic distribution but can show different talents and relationships represented by participants in an event.  In the group at http://tutormentorconnection.ning.com/group/technologyinternswithtu... you can see how I've been trying to build a team of volunteers who would do network analysis of conferences, and who would build tools that could show how participation in a volunteer based tutor/mentor program expands the social capital/the network of both youth and volunteers, providing a benefit to both. The forum has a section where I point to other web sites that provide valuable insight, including those of Valdis Krebs who is one of the leaders in this field. He donated software for our use in 2010